Using Google Chrome At Work!

September 3, 2008

Here’s a picture of me using Google’s new browser at work:

 

Using Google Chrome

Using Google Chrome

I’m quite excited about this, since I usually have to put up with Internet Explorer during my 9-5, but for some reason my work PC allowed me to install Chrome! Sadly I can’t install any Adobe Flash plugins here without administrative privileges, so I can’t currently view videos on Youtube (or anywhere else for that matter) within Chrome, making this little more than a pretty diversion at this stage.

I also have the same middle mouse scroll issue on my work mouse (which is Dell) as I do at home (which is Logitech), so methinks Google have screwed up somewhere here.

 

Google Chrome logo

Google Chrome logo

 

Still, it’s a very pretty browser – and lightning fast too! The above screenshot shows me using one of Chrome’s nifty features: dragging a tab into its own window.

You can also create shortcuts directly to your favourite webpages from the desktop, which then run in their own window sans address bar. This is all part of what Google are referring to as the new breed of “web applications”, but I’m still struggling to understand why you’d want to open a browser window without an address bar. Maybe I’m missing something here…

There are other neat features, like the new tab button displaying a list of your favourite and recently visited sites, and the address bar itself which goes one stage further than Firefox 3′s Awesome Bar and allows you to run Google searches directly.

As you might expect, the early adopter/tech geek crowd are abuzz with a cacophony of opinions. Some love it; others aren’t so sure. Try searching Friendfeed for the latest rants, thoughts and fanboy speculation!

3 Responses to “Using Google Chrome At Work!”

  1. dtw Says:

    This basically worked for me:

    http://my.opera.com/Tamil/blog/how-to-install-flash-player

    My plugins for Chrome are in:

    C:\Documents and Settings\user\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\Plugins


  2. i’m willing to try it out just to see if it works more efficiently than FireFox… if it’s faster than Firefox and isn’t IE, then i’ll use it

  3. lostmoya Says:

    Thanks dtw!

    @kingdom media. It’s definitely faster than either Firefox or IE.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

