Welcome

July 14, 2006

So this is the first post on my new blog, then. This is strange: it feels like I’ve been here before.

I’m going to take this opportunity to self-indulgently say: “Welcome to my new blog!” If you take a moment to read the About pages above, you’ll get a little more information about me, my interests and what kind of things you’ll (eventually) be able to read on this blog.

Apparently, there’s a new blog created every second. It’s old news, of course, but I like to remind myself of it whenever I’m blogging. I try to answer the “Is it worth it?” question before I hit Submit or Publish. Although I do sometimes blog stories that I find on Digg, Boingboing and Reddit (etc.), in general I try not to just blog a link without any meaningful and/or witty comment. Of course, if I’ve had a particularly long day at work, I may not be feeling very intelligent or entertaining. In that case I’ll invariably just say “Ah, stuff it…” and hit submit anyway…

In any case, none of this should be taken as some sort of self-important “guarantee of blog-quality” or anything like that. I guess all I’m saying is that I don’t tend to post animated .gifs of the Zidane headbutt alongside “lol ownt!!2”. Just because something is funny on ytmnd or Something Awful, doesn’t mean it’s going to work here.

So maybe you’re wondering about the title. In that case, you’ve come to the right paragraph! “Burned at Both Ends” is not some esoteric sexual metaphor; it’s just a phrase I came up with to describe how I’m feeling at this stage in my life. Due to my current workload, I’m regularly up at the crack of dawn and into University by half past 8 in the morning — chained to a computer, writing all day, and coming home at 8.30-9pm. I have also developed the — probably very unhealthy — habit of staying up late to unwind, which for me means sitting in front of yet another computer, gaming, blogging and browsing the internet.

Hopefully, I’ll grow out of this phase: the dark rings under my eyes reveal that it’s probably not a viable long-term lifestyle choice. But for now at least I’m sticking with the title I’ve got. We’ll see where things go from there.

9 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. M Dawggg Says:

    This looks good. I like the neatness of it all. Pardon my ignorance, but how will ‘tagging’ affect the way you publish on this site differently to a blogspot site? (Although the air quotes might make that question look sarcastic, I assure you it isn’t.) Couldn’t you just set up a variety of different blogs catering to different topics under your lostmoya.blogspot address? Or is that different? Do I ask too many questions?

  2. lostmoya Says:

    First comment dropped, brother! Feelin’ that!

    *Ahem* Well, often it’s the case that a single post on a blog can be categorized under several different tags or headings. For example, I might want to post something tech news that I also find funny. Or tech news that also relates to music. Or a film post which is also about internet culture and is funny. Or… See what I mean? So I can tag a single post with 2, 3, 4 or more different tags.

    As far as I see it, this “multiple classification of a single post” ability is one of the main benefits of tags. This also gives the reader of the blog the ability to pick out posts that interest them from a single page, rather than just being able to search by date (as on blogspot) or having to go to multiple pages based on the classification of posts (as on your example where one can set up several blogs under the same blogspot username). Bottom line: it’s just more convenient and better.

    Also, it looks cool.

    If you want to read more about the benefits and drawbacks, check this wikipedia article:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tags

  3. M Dawggg Says:

    I see. Well, my learned friend, reader satisfaction is clearly your number one priority. Feelin’ that, gangsta.

    I’m not sure that multiple categorisation of posts within a long list of sub-genres is in any way cool, though, but you pays your money (or not), you makes your choice. Haha.

    Peace.

  4. lostmoya Says:

    Yeah, I’ve currently got too many redundant categories. This is because I inevitably got excited by the ability to add tags and started sicking them out left, right and centre. I intend to reduce the number of tags significantly once I get a few spare minutes. My goal is to have something like 5 or 6 meaningful tags which will clearly categorise the content on the blog and make it easier for people to find things.

    But I hope you get an idea of way it works from what I’ve done so far.

  5. Suresh Says:

    As a research scholar you write so well.congratulations.

  6. Web Says:

    I appreciate your blog. 😉

  7. Robert Eckert Says:

    Brilliant blog you have .I like the comments and topics you discuss here.Although this is not the information,I was hoping to find with my search.I believe it’s great when you come across a genuine subject that makes sense.Good luck in all your endeavors.If you have the chance.Maybe you could stop by my new web site.How to Start a Home Business and Create
    Wealth from Scratch!


  8. […] course; to date I’ve had 24,084 hits — and that’s just since I moved to WordPress in July of last […]

  9. Goms Says:

    I dont want face book accounts


Comments are closed.

