Crysis Won’t Run on Next-Gen Consoles — Crytek

August 29, 2006

Team X-box are reporting Bernd Diemer, senior designer at Crytek, as saying that next-gen consoles like the Xbox360 and PS3 aren’t powerful enough to run Crysis “as intended” by the developers:

Full story (from Team X-box)
(via Firingsquad)

Apparently:

only DirectX 10 allows the game to run as it was intended by the developers because the next-generation DirectX API, which will ship along with Windows Vista, allows more effects and more objects to be drawn on the screen with a smaller computational cost for the hardware.

Of course, this could all be nothing more than marketing bluster, designed to increase the game’s cred among the “OMG!! H4rdC0R3!!” graphics-whore crowd. Nevertheless, I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to feeling a smug, warm glow somewhere inside with the knowledge that next-gen PC hardware is already leaving behind the so-called “next-gen doesn’t start till we say it does” Sony teraflop-machine.

I’ve already commented that Crysis is looking sweet. But now the question is: will I ever be able to afford a PC good enough to run it? With this announcement, that’s looking increasingly unlikely.

6 Responses to “Crysis Won’t Run on Next-Gen Consoles — Crytek”

  1. newmw Says:

    Well, in time all PCs get cheaper so there will be some time that you can play it 🙂 I’ve been following Crysis for some time and the screens just look amazing, It’d be a waste if the game can’t be published on the nextgens “as intended” by the developers. But hey, we got PC so, what are we indeed worrying about!

  2. lostmoya Says:

    True, I will be able to play it “one day”, but by that time everyone else will be plugging PC games directly into their central nervous system or something. To be honest, although Crysis has the wow-factor graphics, I’m more interested in games that push the creativity boundaries in other ways, like Facade, which you were blogging about earlier.

  3. newmw Says:

    Hahah, yeah, same goes for me. I think I can play it when I’ll go to work on Mars. And I’m totally with you on the creative boundaries. First person shooters can only really get me interested if they have very good narratives (DeusEX, Max Payne). But everytime I see nextgen graphics I go ‘wow’, just because of the graphics. Had that especially with Elder Scrolls, which combined creativity and graphics. Also added you to my blogroll btw, like your blog!

  4. Mark Says:

    Dave, after reading this I feel I must stress that what I’m about to post is purely coincidental. I wrote it yesterday and it is in no way a retort to your PC leanings, which I respect in a sort of unappreciative console gaming Mac owner kind of way. Haha!

    What you doing tomorrow?

  5. Justin Says:

    Yeah i’ve heard about this too..i did a post on it not too long ago.

    Oh, and thanks for stopping by my blog…your thoughts on Wii60 are definately true. I think this gen i’ll be buying an XBox 360 and a Nintendo Wii…sorry Sony!

  6. lostmoya Says:

    No problem Justin. I sometimes tagsurf wordpress, and that’s how I happened upon your blog. I’ve added you to my blogroll, and your feed to reader: I’ll try to check back in regularly.


Comments are closed.

