Preservation Photo: Awesome Photos of Urban Decay

March 14, 2009

Found via Dark Roasted Blend, here’s another site showcasing some incredibly beautiful photography of abandoned buildings before the wreckers move in:

Preservation Photo dedicates itself to documenting architecture through photography in an effort to preserve a building’s history.

Some illustrative examples:

Bancroft Mills

The massive Bancroft Mill complex was the largest and longest running mill in Delewares Brandywine Valley before it went bankrupt in 2003.

Pennhurst State School

At it’s peak the several hundred acre campus housed over 3500 patients (known as “clients”) and began suffering from overcrowded conditions. Sexual abuse, neglect, and appalling living conditions led to a class action lawsuit against the school in 1977. The school was found guilty of violating patients rights and was officially shut down a decade later in 1987.

4 Responses to “Preservation Photo: Awesome Photos of Urban Decay”

  1. Olman Says:

    I like that kind of picture, they bring older reality to the present,


  2. Hello. I love what you and your website are doing for the preservation of architectural buildings in your photography. I am on the verge of becoming a photographists right now in school. I have just created a website based on my childhood town in Indiana. I’ve since moved from there, but every once and a while when I visit my grandparents there, I see that the city is trying to restore its poverty appearance, and new buildings are moving in (and so are new residential areas too). I remember when I was younger I used to pass by a bank on a major intersection on my way home (the First National Bank; in which John Dillenger robbed in the ’30s). Now since I’ve moved, I haven’t seen it in a long time. When I went back to the same bank last weekend….it was demolished by the evil Walgreens (corner) Pharmacy! How rude! They could of used the bank as a pharmacy, because of its beautiful architecture and historical past….but NO! They ruined one of the city’s historical structures. ~ {sorry so long in depth of details} ~ Well, my website isn’t finished yet, but the bank that I’m talking about above IS finished. *****Please send me updated or whatever emails to me about you and why your doing this too. Then, we can continue our chat, cause I’m sure this message is really long on your comments page. Chat w/ ya later!🙂

  3. Claire Says:

    Hi

    I am currently studying a Foundation Degree in Photography in UK, I am doing an assignment based on Personal Landscape and I am concentrating on Decay and Death of the Industry where I live. I wondered if you would help me. I need to include artists who I have found inspiring which i do of your work. I wondered if you would be interested in answering a few of my questions for my assignment.

    Thank you

    Claire

  4. Koobare Says:

    Awesome. Post-apocalyptic feel just gives me shivers.


Comments are closed.

