Librarians of the FUTURE!

August 19, 2009

JISC (Joint Information Systems Committee – although to me that’s always been as meaningless as the acronym) released a slick video recently canvassing opinion and conjecture on what libraries might look like 10 or 20 years down the line:

While I find all the talk about virtual information hubs, networks and the like interesting, I’d always thought librarians of the future were supposed to look like this:

Terminator Librarian WH40K

(from here)

4 Responses to “Librarians of the FUTURE!”

  1. sophievdw Says:

    Thanks for the video!
    While I agree with some of the points raised about “libraries of the future” (asif the future is a far-off land) regarding technology and the need for new services, the girl at 3:44 is right in saying globally libraries will very much stick to paper products and in some instances card catalogues.

    Technology is revolutionising libraries, but bandwidth is a serious problem in developing countries.

    I’m glad to see that at least academics see the need and importance of librarians! Students tend to believe we only do issuing🙂

  2. Liz Says:

    Thanks for posting this vid! Just what I was looking for. Fascinating topic.


  3. […] bit dramatic maybe, but I saw the video below on lostmoya’s blog  Burned at Both End. It’s JISC’s video on what the library of the future will look […]

  4. Alex Fink Says:

    Wow! I really like the Librarians!


Comments are closed.

